News, nightlife, and culture from the two greatest places on earth, Brooklyn and the rest of New York City, brought to you by everyone's favorite Brooklyn boys.
March 18, 2011
We FINALLY made it
Well it took 28 fuckin hrs of drivin and a night in Nashville, but we finally made it to Austin last night at around 2am. In true Dreazy fashion I havent really taken in much musica yet...had to get drunk first, but what I HAVE seen has been dope. In any case Young Dreazy gotta go get some more booze in him before headin out to see OFWGKTA. GOLF WANG MUHFUCKA!!
March 15, 2011
This is madness. Madness? THIS IS...ok yeah its pretty fuckin stupid.
About this time last year, my homie Fergie made a post about why he hates March Madness(appropriately named because the entire country completely forgetting the fact that they couldn't care less about college hoops can only be described as madness). I agree with pretty much every word of it, so I've decided to repost it for those who missed it the first time around. You can find it HERE.
Here are some of the highlights for the ADD set:
3) The 3-point line: There are constantly late-game exchanges of 3's, leading to huge runs and lead changes, but this is because hitting a 3, particularly against the poor quality of defense usually presented at the college level, is tantamount to hitting a long free throw, especially when basketball's equivalent of a kicker, the little college white guy that only hits 3's, and never misses, is dropped into the equation.
5) Fans?: No one, except the occasional random who happened to attend Duke, UNC, Syracuse, Kansas or Kentucky, is a truly devoted fan of a College Basketball team. Go to an SEC or Big Ten town/state, and you will see that College Football is religion, go to the Northeast, and you will see that Baseball is a religion, or go to Canada, and select towns across America, and you will see that Hockey is a religion, but I can't think of anywhere outside of the research triangle that every other vehicle has an NCAA Basketball team's sticker on its bumper. How are people so into the games? Really, 8 college students in upstate NY care that much about Butler vs. UTEP? A group of managers in Georgia lives and dies with Sam Houston St., or Wofford? When people in an area really love their college hoops, it's generally indicative that there's a profound lack of anything going on in that area, and that speaks volumes.
6) The Tournament interferes with much more important things: Mid to late March. Usually, the first time someone says, "you fill out your bracket, bro?" there are 10-15 regular season NHL games remaining, meaning that the home stretch in a regular season that greatly affects the postseason is underway and reaching its peak. Simultaneously, Opening Day in baseball is only days away, and one can truly begin to see MLB teams take some semblance of form. The lack of Spring Training coverage in the media is directly proportionate to the abundance of bracketology. Heck, I'm more interested in the NBA stretch run than in March Madness; at least the NBA (for all of the hate it gets, based on culture, style of play, etc.) represents the highest level of basketball available. You know what that alleged poorer pace of play in the NBA, as opposed to the NCAA, is called? Defense.
TRUTH!
Here are some of the highlights for the ADD set:
3) The 3-point line: There are constantly late-game exchanges of 3's, leading to huge runs and lead changes, but this is because hitting a 3, particularly against the poor quality of defense usually presented at the college level, is tantamount to hitting a long free throw, especially when basketball's equivalent of a kicker, the little college white guy that only hits 3's, and never misses, is dropped into the equation.
5) Fans?: No one, except the occasional random who happened to attend Duke, UNC, Syracuse, Kansas or Kentucky, is a truly devoted fan of a College Basketball team. Go to an SEC or Big Ten town/state, and you will see that College Football is religion, go to the Northeast, and you will see that Baseball is a religion, or go to Canada, and select towns across America, and you will see that Hockey is a religion, but I can't think of anywhere outside of the research triangle that every other vehicle has an NCAA Basketball team's sticker on its bumper. How are people so into the games? Really, 8 college students in upstate NY care that much about Butler vs. UTEP? A group of managers in Georgia lives and dies with Sam Houston St., or Wofford? When people in an area really love their college hoops, it's generally indicative that there's a profound lack of anything going on in that area, and that speaks volumes.
6) The Tournament interferes with much more important things: Mid to late March. Usually, the first time someone says, "you fill out your bracket, bro?" there are 10-15 regular season NHL games remaining, meaning that the home stretch in a regular season that greatly affects the postseason is underway and reaching its peak. Simultaneously, Opening Day in baseball is only days away, and one can truly begin to see MLB teams take some semblance of form. The lack of Spring Training coverage in the media is directly proportionate to the abundance of bracketology. Heck, I'm more interested in the NBA stretch run than in March Madness; at least the NBA (for all of the hate it gets, based on culture, style of play, etc.) represents the highest level of basketball available. You know what that alleged poorer pace of play in the NBA, as opposed to the NCAA, is called? Defense.
TRUTH!
February 13, 2011
February 9, 2011
30's the new 20, but what are the 20's

Ok what are we supposed to do now? history dictates that its time to get a job...but the times they are a-changing. Or find some other cool song that justifies your need for individuality as an excuse for never working a 9-5. Check this article out and get inspired to do nothing (i.e have a job), or do nothing (i.e. don't).
February 8, 2011
Museum of Funk

Like dancing? Like hip hop? Like Live dj's? Like sippin wine and beer with tons of people......in a museum, oh and maybe some east Asian, African, and Arabic historical artifacts? yea its quite a blend, but eclectic taste is one of the things Brooklyn is all about. Every first Saturday of the month the Brooklyn Museum opens its doors, cracks some bottles, and turns up the speakers. For free you can go to the museum and divide your time between getting down to some music and exploring the museums vast collection of historical artifacts.....which of course become wildly interesting after a few beers are in you. Antique pots and other ceramics and cultural items of the past blend sooo well with the vibrations of Biggie. Anyway I'm sure you get the idea...good culture is blended, both past and present making for an exciting and completely unique evening.
February 5, 2011
The beginning
Ok, finally we are getting some wheels moving. but now that we have started let's not break momentum....though we will inevitably be pulled in various other directions at times. The boys out of the BK, The Brook, Crooklyn, The Borough, Kings county, or just Brooklyn are putting our jumbled and erratic thoughts together to bring to you a semi-comprehensive guide to night life, events, parties, and general BK livin. When I say BK livin, I mean a true Brooklyn state of mind...no hippos here. We will be putting our livers (and sanity, if we had any to begin with) on the line to scout out and inform you of the most poppin events taking place all over the city. Let this website be your in, your guide, your secret informant. Or just catch up on some bizarre shit that we thought worthy of posting and further discussing. so fill your glass and have some laughs, but always stay connected and spread love, it's the Brooklyn way.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
